Aston University Medicine: UCAT, A-Levels & Interview Requirements
Aston University has not published a fixed UCAT cut-off for 2027 entry. Here's how UCAT, A-levels, SJT and the interview all fit together for medicine.
- 2027 UCAT cut off
- Not published
- How the UCAT is weighted
- UCAT score used in selection process alongside academic achievement.
- SJT policy
- Aston states it has no lower cut-off score for the UCAT or for the SJT section specifically. It does not state that the SJT is excluded from scoring altogether.
- A-level requirements
- A*AA with Chemistry and Biology compulsory, including passes in the practical elements where available, and any third subject excluding General Studies and Critical Thinking; the A* must be in Biology or Chemistry. Contextual offer AAB with grades AA in Chemistry and Biology. GCSEs: a minimum of six at grade B/6 or above including English Language, Mathematics, Chemistry, and Biology or Double Science.
- Interview
Multiple Mini Interview, online.
Aston does not publish three of the five things a candidate needs before an interview.
Aston interview: full format, stations, dates and what is not published
- Resits
- Accepted, with a time limit rather than a grade penalty. Applicants who have resat or are resitting GCSEs, A-levels or accepted equivalents, with or without repeating an academic year, will be considered, but must normally complete their final qualification profile within no more than three academic years, which allows one resit year only.
- Personal statement
- Aston University does not publish how it uses the personal statement. Schools in this dataset range from scoring it to refusing to read it, so nothing can safely be assumed from silence.
What the UCAT had to be, 2026 entry
Aston University does not publish one.
That is the university's own position, not a gap in our research. Any specific number quoted for Aston University elsewhere is somebody's reconstruction from reported scores, not a figure the medical school has confirmed. Treat it accordingly.
Aston states it has no lower cut-off for either the UCAT total or the SJT, which is a rarer position than it sounds: several schools in this dataset reject a band 4 SJT outright, so an applicant carrying one has a materially different set of realistic options and Aston is on it. The UCAT is weighed alongside the rest of the entry requirements rather than used as a gate.
Aston University application data, checked 2026-09-01.
Your actual chances, 2020/21 entry
Aston University's own published figures, not an estimate.
Aston splits its Home/EU column into widening participation and non-widening participation and prints no combined Home/EU line, so the home figures here add Aston's own two sub-columns: 303 and 763 applicants, 161 and 202 interviews, 111 and 152 offers. The widening participation route is much the easier one at every stage - 303 applications produced 111 offers against 763 producing 152. Aston also records acceptances, 69 and 87 for the two home groups and 34 international, but does not define what an acceptance counts, so no entrant figure is carried here. This is the most recent admissions data Aston publishes and Aston labels it 2020/21; its current pages give an annual intake target of 110 home and 30 international places with no cycle and no application, interview or offer counts.
Offer rate is offers as a share of applications, so it already accounts for everyone cut before interview. Aston University application data, checked 2026-09-23.
National benchmark, for context
For context, the UCAT Consortium's own 2026 statistics report a mean cognitive score of 1918 (out of 2,700) across 42,359 tests, with the median (5th decile) at 1920 and the top decile at 2250+. This is a national figure, not Aston University's own threshold, since Aston University doesn't publish one for the current cycle.
UCAT Consortium, Test Statistics 2026Standard A-level offer: A*AA with Chemistry and Biology compulsory, including passes in the practical elements where available, and any third subject excluding General Studies and Critical Thinking; the A* must be in Biology or Chemistry. Contextual offer AAB with grades AA in Chemistry and Biology. GCSEs: a minimum of six at grade B/6 or above including English Language, Mathematics, Chemistry, and Biology or Double Science. SJT policy: Aston states it has no lower cut-off score for the UCAT or for the SJT section specifically. It does not state that the SJT is excluded from scoring altogether. Worth knowing: Aston states: “We do not have a lower cut-off score for UCAT or the Situational Judgment Test (SJT) section of the UCAT.” The SJT half of that is unusual and matters: several schools reject Band 4 outright, so an applicant carrying one has a genuinely different set of realistic options, and Aston is on it. The UCAT is weighed alongside the rest of the entry requirements rather than used as a hurdle. Always confirm against the official page before applying, since this is the most recent published position rather than a guarantee for the live cycle.
Source: Aston University's own admissions page. Last checked 13 September 2026.
Every figure above is taken from that page. Where Aston University publishes nothing, this page says so rather than quoting a number reconstructed from student reports.
Schools worth comparing Aston University against
- Exeter MedicineAlso asks A*AA at A-level
- King's MedicineAlso asks A*AA at A-level
- Plymouth MedicineAlso asks A*AA at A-level
- Queen Mary MedicineAlso asks A*AA at A-level
- Birmingham MedicineAlso folds UCAT into a combined score and leaves the SJT out of the score it ranks on
See the full directory or the admissions hub.