UCAT Cut Off Scores 2027
A UCAT cut-off is the minimum score a school needs to invite you to interview, not a guarantee of an offer. Search, filter and sort all 68 courses below.
Enter your UCAT score, see where you qualify, and save your shortlist.
Free account. No card required.
A number appears here only where a school publishes a fixed minimum for 2027 entry. "Not published" means the school ranks applicants by percentile, decile or a combined score instead, or hasn't released a 2027-entry figure yet, even where it published one for 2026. Every row links through to the school's own page, which carries the source and the date it was last checked.
What "Not published" actually means
For context, the UCAT Consortium's own 2026 statistics report a mean cognitive score of 1918 (out of 2,700) across 42,359 tests, with the median (5th decile) at 1920 and the top decile at 2250+. There's no single official "score you need to get interviewed" published by the UCAT Consortium itself, since interview thresholds are set by each university, not centrally. Use this national distribution to sanity-check where your score sits, then read the specific school's page for how it actually uses UCAT.
UCAT Consortium, Test Statistics 2026Published cut-offs vs. the national distribution
Deciles and mean: UCAT Consortium, Test Statistics 2026, 2026. Only schools with a genuinely published, current-cycle minimum are plotted. Most schools use UCAT without a fixed public number, so their absence here isn't a gap in this chart.
| Course | SJT policy | Interview | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Anglia Ruskin University | Medicine | Not published | SJT band used in selection. | Multiple Mini Interview format. |
| Aston University | Medicine | Not published | Aston states it has no lower cut-off score for the UCAT or for the SJT section specifically. It does not state that the SJT is excluded from scoring altogether. | Multiple Mini Interview format. Aston states that all its MMIs are held online, that an applicant encounters several different stations with each station designed to test a different attribute, and that performance is scored at each station before an overall score is calculated. Some stations involve interacting with actors; others give a scenario to read and discuss with the assessor. Aston does not publish the number of stations on its MMI page. MMIs normally take place between December and March in the year of application. |
| Bangor University | Medicine | Not published | Bangor publishes no separate SJT policy on its course page. No band is named as an automatic rejection, and no band is named as a requirement. | Multiple mini interview (MMI), a series of short timed stations. All applicants selected must attend for interview. |
| Brighton and Sussex Medical School | Medicine | Not published | BSMS does use the SJT band as a gate on interview selection. Its entry requirements page states that, to select for interview, applicants scoring a SJT band 1, 2 or 3 are ranked according to their UCAT score, with top ranking candidates invited to interview. BSMS does not say on that page what happens to an applicant scoring band 4. | Multiple Mini Interview: five stations each lasting 10 minutes with a short break between stations, roughly one hour total. Applicants choose in person (early December or early January) or virtual via Zoom (late January or early February); interviews run December to February. |
| Brunel University London | Medicine | Not published | SJT band used in selection. | Virtual, asynchronous Multiple Mini Interview (vMMI), online only |
| Cardiff University | Dentistry | Not published | Not mentioned anywhere in Cardiff's official BDS admissions materials for either the 2026 or 2027 cycle. Does not appear to be used in selection. | Multiple Mini Interview format, which Cardiff describes as several individual stations with themed questions. Interviews are in person for Home fee status applicants, and Cardiff states it will not offer online interviews except for overseas applicants to the Bachelor of Dental Surgery programme. The majority of stations are mapped to attributes expected of dental professionals by the General Dental Council. Applicants may sit the MMI through the medium of Welsh or bilingually, switching languages at any point without affecting their score. Cardiff does not publish the number of stations on this page. |
| Cardiff University | Medicine | Not published | Not published as a separate scored component. No Cardiff admissions document mentions a distinct SJT band or SJT-specific cut-off; only the overall UCAT decile score is used in selection. | Multiple Mini Interview, which Cardiff describes as several individual stations with themed questions. It says it generally asks questions relating to the Cardiff course, ethics, understanding of a career in medicine, the NHS, working in teams, self-directed learning, motivation, empathy, resilience and communication. For 2027 entry the interviews are in person for home fee status applicants and online for overseas fee status applicants. Cardiff does not state how many stations there are in this document. All questions are available in Welsh, so the interview can be taken wholly in Welsh or bilingually, and switching language mid-interview does not affect the score. |
| Edge Hill University | Medicine | Not published | SJT band used in selection. | Multiple Mini Interviews. Edge Hill's admissions policy supplement says all candidates who progress from the UCAT ranking stage are required to attend interview and that the interview takes the form of MMIs, assessing motivation for the Edge Hill MBChB, verbal communication skills, integrity and probity, teamwork and leadership, empathy and compassion, awareness of current health challenges, ethical awareness, awareness of self and others, prioritisation and decision making, and interpretation of data. A score is given at each station and the individual scores are combined. The course page itself still lists stage 3, the interview, as details to be confirmed, so no station count, duration or in-person versus online format is published for the current cycle. |
| Imperial College London | Medicine | Not published | For 2026 entry, a minimum SJT Band 3 was required alongside the UCAT threshold, with Band 4 discounted, for both home and contextual applicants. Not confirmed for the current cycle. | Multiple Mini Interview, typically held throughout January and February. You have 5 minutes to answer the questions at each station, and answers are marked out of six for content and out of four for communication. Imperial names the main station topics as teamwork and leadership, motivation to study medicine, understanding the role of a doctor, empathy and breaking bad news, ethics and values-related scenarios, and data interpretation, while warning that questions and stations vary year to year. It states no station count anywhere, and neither its MMI page, its MMI timeline page nor the course page says whether interviews are held online or in person. |
| Keele University | Medicine | 1700 | Band 4 automatic rejection | Two 15-minute interviews, usually two hours apart, held online via Microsoft Teams. Keele does not use the term 'Multiple Mini Interview' or 'MMI' anywhere on its published admissions pages for this format. |
| King's College London | Dentistry | Not published | Taken into account when shortlisting alongside the overall UCAT average, but no specific SJT band or numerical cut-off is published. | Currently conducted remotely with a panel of two interviewers, assessing communication skills, ethical and social issues, and suitability for dentistry. In previous years the format was in-person Multiple Mini Interviews with six interviewers. Interview period runs December to March, with at least two weeks' notice given. |
| King's College London | Medicine | Not published | SJT is taken into account when shortlisting candidates for interview; no band cut-off or scoring formula is published. | King's does not specify interview format, station count, or delivery mode on its current medicine requirements page. A King's admissions FAQ from July 2023 (for 2024 entry) described an online MMI with 7 stations, one question per station each, but this has not been reconfirmed for the current cycle and no live King's medicine page repeats it. Treat as historical, not current. |
| Lancaster University | Medicine | Not published | SJT band used in selection. | Multiple Mini Interview. Applicants who meet Lancaster's requirements and score competitively on the UCAT are invited to interview, held in January and February, with most invitations sent out in December. You complete a number of different stations which assess some of the skills, values and attributes required to study and practise medicine successfully. Each station is assessed by a trained interviewer, drawn from university staff, NHS clinicians, GPs, patient and public representatives, and medical students. Your individual station scores are combined into an overall MMI score, applicants are ranked on that score, and offers go to the highest scorers. No offer is made without attending an interview. Lancaster's how-to-apply pages do not currently state how many stations there are, how long each one lasts, or whether the interview is held online or in person. |
| Newcastle University | Dentistry | Not published | Not used or mentioned anywhere in Newcastle's admissions materials for either the 2026 or 2027 cycle. | Semi-structured panel interview (Newcastle's own words), conducted by two admissions selectors, lasting approximately 20 minutes, held online via Zoom, usually in February or March, scored across six domains: preparation and motivation, effective learning skills, team working, personal qualities and resilience, interpersonal and communication skills, and empathy/sensitivity/integrity/professionalism. Newcastle does not say whether this is an MMI; the term does not appear in its admissions policy. |
| Newcastle University | Medicine | Not published | Newcastle uses the SJT band twice: candidates in Band 4 are eliminated before interview, and Bands 1–3 contribute points (5/3/1) to the final Interview score, weighted the same as one interview station. | Newcastle states that interviews for Home A100 and A101 applicants generally take the form of Multiple Mini Interviews on campus. Applicants classed as International for fee purposes are generally interviewed by a panel of two interviewers, either on campus or remotely. At an MMI each applicant is scored at every station by an individual selector; in a panel interview the same categories are assessed by interview questions and scored by each selector separately. |
| Pears Cumbria School of Medicine | Medicine | Not published | No separate SJT policy is published. | Multiple mini interviews (MMIs), held in person in Carlisle. Stations cover commitment to medicine, potential to contribute to the school and the region, teamwork and leadership, ethics, empathy, and resilience and adaptability. |
| Queen Mary University of London | Dentistry | Not published | SJT is scored alongside UCAT at first shortlisting: applicants must score Band 1 to 3 to proceed; a Band 4 SJT score results in the application not being considered further. | If you are shortlisted you will be asked to attend an interview online, and interviews take place in January and February. Interview panels typically consist of two members of senior academic or clinical staff, a dental student and sometimes a lay selector. The panel has access to your UCAS application and may ask you questions drawn from the information you have given. Interviews are designed to assess your motivation and the reality of a career in dentistry, initiative, resilience and maturity, teamwork, organisation and problem-solving, contribution to university life, and communication skills. There are three possible outcomes: an offer conditional on obtaining the relevant qualifications and non-academic clearance, a rejection, or a place on the waiting list, and decisions are communicated in March once all interviews have been completed. Queen Mary's admissions policy, in a section that covers dentistry alongside its medicine courses, adds that the university may use either Multiple Mini Interviews or panel interviews of at least two people, held in person or virtually, so the panel described for dentistry is the format Queen Mary currently runs rather than one it has ruled out changing. |
| Queen Mary University of London | Medicine | Not published | SJT Band 4 results in automatic rejection at first shortlisting; Bands 1 to 3 are required to proceed, and the SJT score may be reconsidered again at the final offer-decision stage. | QMUL's two official sources disagree on format: its Admissions Policy document says the university may use either MMI or panel interviews, in person or virtually, usually January to March; a separate selection-criteria page describes online-only panel interviews of two senior academic/clinical staff, January to February. |
| Queen's University Belfast | Dentistry | Not published | QUB's dentistry course page does not mention the SJT at all. QUB's medicine admissions FAQ describes an SJT tie-break rule for medicine specifically; QUB has not published whether the same rule applies to dentistry. | Home/RoI fee applicants are ranked on academic plus UCAT score, then shortlisted for an in-person interview in Belfast; offers are made solely on interview performance. International/EU (non-RoI) applicants are ranked holistically and interviewed online. QUB's Dentistry-specific materials do not confirm MMI terminology or a station count for this course. |
| Queen's University Belfast | Medicine | Not published | Not described as a separate banded cut-off on QUB's live pages. Used only as a tie-breaker: if two candidates have the same rank order but there is only one place, the offer goes to the candidate with the higher SJT score. | Multiple Mini Interview. QUB's admission policy statement for 2027 entry states that the MMI will consist of nine stations for Home fee applicants, who attend in person in Belfast, and that the online MMI for International fee applicants will consist of 7 stations. It adds that candidates will be informed of the number of stations and the format of the interview day later in the application process. The stations are designed to test four non-cognitive competencies QUB names as empathy, problem-solving, moral reasoning and communication skills. The MMI page the policy links to sets out three sample stations, one of them with a role player, but carries no station count of its own. Interviews run from mid-December to March. |
| St George's, University of London | Medicine | Not published | SJT and MMI scores are ranked together post-interview, with offers going to the highest performers within each applicant group. No specific SJT band cut-off is published. | Multiple Mini Interview. City St George's MMI guidance describes an MMI as six short stations, each lasting around five minutes, with a 60-second break between stations, and each station assessed separately and independently by a different interviewer. For the five-year MBBS Medicine course, that guidance currently describes the interview as taking place through SAMMI-Select, an online platform: you answer six pre-recorded questions of about five minutes each on camera, with a 60-second break between them, and trained interviewers score the recordings afterwards. Allow up to an hour for the whole process, including the setup checks and upload time. In-person MMIs at the Tooting campus are described for the graduate entry course, where at each station you may be asked a question, given a practical task, or asked to take part in a role play such as managing a challenging situation. City St George's notes that some of this information may change for applicants in the 2027 cycle, so check its MMI guidance for your own year. |
| St Mary's University, Twickenham | Medicine | Not published | The SJT band is reviewed alongside the three cognitive subtests. Applicants meeting the academic, UCAT and SJT requirements are invited to MMI. | Values-based recruitment through Multiple Mini Interviews, held online. St Mary's runs its MMIs on the SAMMI-Select platform and states they are asynchronous and recorded rather than live, with candidates assessed against pre-determined marking criteria that are not shared in advance. Interviews usually run between January and June, decisions are made on interview performance, and no place is offered without an interview. |
| Swansea University | Medicine | Not published | SJT policy not specified for graduate-entry route. | An assessment day rather than a named interview format. Swansea says the assessment consists of 3 x 20/30 minute face-to-face stations and may take the form of interviews, presentations or role play scenarios, and that candidates may be questioned on the content of their personal statement within one or more of the stations. The stations are conducted by a trained panel of clinicians, academics, medical students and members of the public, and assess communication skills, problem solving skills, coping with pressure, insight and integrity, passion for medicine and resilience to succeed, organisation and research, and ethics and values. Swansea does not call this an MMI or a panel interview; neither term appears on the page. It reserves the right to change the format of stations and the competencies assessed between admissions cycles, without notice, and says further details will be confirmed in the invitation to interview. |
| Ulster University | Medicine | Not published | Not applicable: Ulster's admissions process does not mention the UCAT or its Situational Judgement Test component anywhere in its published material. | Multiple mini interview (MMI), which applicants must pass. |
| University College London | Medicine | Not published | Used only as a tiebreaker: where candidates have identical total UCAT scores, the SJT score is used to further rank them. No separate published SJT band cut-off. | Multiple Mini Interview with up to 8 stations, each 5 minutes plus 1 minute of reading time beforehand, roughly 50 minutes in total. Home fee-paying candidates interview in person in London; overseas candidates interview online. Interviews run on a rolling basis from December to the end of March. |
| University of Aberdeen | Dentistry | Not published | The SJT subtest is not formally scored as part of the ranking, but may be used in offer-making when candidates have similar scores. | Multiple Mini Interview. Aberdeen describes an MMI as candidates rotating around a number of question stations in turn, with each station lasting 7 minutes and the whole experience taking approximately 90 minutes for each candidate. At each station a selector explores one question area and scores your performance against pre-determined criteria, and communication and interpersonal skills are scored independently at every station. Aberdeen says the interview is not intended to test academic knowledge or to ask questions tied directly to the school curriculum, and that for some questions there is no correct answer, so what is under scrutiny is your ability to reflect on and discuss different aspects of a problem. The same categories of question are used on each day the MMI runs, and interviewees are offered a tour of the Dental School on the day. The highest-scoring candidates on academic attainment and the admissions test are invited to interview, and all subsequent offers are made on interview performance alone. Aberdeen's interview page names ten questioning domains that selectors may explore, but it does not state how many stations there are, or which months interviews are held in. |
| University of Aberdeen | Medicine | Not published | SJT is one of four UCAT subtests factored into the overall UCAT score used in selection; Aberdeen's official pages do not publish a separate SJT band cut-off or distinct SJT weighting policy. | Modified Multiple Mini Interview, in person at the Suttie Centre, Foresterhill Health Campus, approximately 1 hour per candidate. Aberdeen names five MBChB station domains: motivation to study medicine, core qualities, critical thinking & problem solving, team work, and professionalism. It lists the same five for Gateway2Medicine and a separate list of seven for the BDS, and tells candidates that no reading is required during the interviews. Aberdeen's interview page says the number of stations depends on the course and sends candidates to its 'Coming to Interview' page for the numbers and domains; that page names the domains but never puts an MBChB station count in words. |
| University of Birmingham | Dentistry | Not published | Not used in the ranking score at this stage. Only Verbal Reasoning, Decision Making and Quantitative Reasoning count. | Not published on the university's dentistry admissions pages at the time of writing. |
| University of Birmingham | Medicine | Not published | Not used in the initial ranking score; the SJT result is used at the interview stage instead. | Multiple Mini Interview format. For Home applicants the circuit is six or seven 8-minute stations, each including 2 minutes of preparation time, delivered in person at the Medical School in Birmingham and made up of a mix of interviews, role-play and calculation tasks; the stations all run simultaneously and an applicant may be asked to begin at any of them. At each station there is one interviewer or role-player plus a second interviewer present, and both score independently. International applicants interview online via Zoom regardless of where they are based, sitting at least two MMI stations including a role-play station, plus a separate online calculations assessment on a different date. The maximum score for each MMI station and for the SJT component is the same, so all stations and the SJT are equally weighted. Birmingham labels this format as applying to 2026 entry. |
| University of Bristol | Dentistry | Not published | UCAT Situational Judgement Test must be sat but is explicitly excluded from the score used to select applicants for interview; no separate SJT band cut-off is published. | Bristol calls it a "Structured Interview Format", held online via Zoom with four assessors and lasting approximately 45-60 minutes. Candidates prepare two tasks in advance: a three-dimensional model made from dried pasta representing an environmental habitat that reflects their personality, and a five-minute presentation on a current controversial topic in dentistry. Bristol does not say whether this is a panel interview or an MMI, and neither term appears in its published material. Interviews run on various dates between December and February; the window Bristol currently publishes is December 2025 to February 2026. |
| University of Bristol | Medicine | Not published | The Situational Judgement subtest is excluded from the combined score used to select applicants for interview; all other subtests are treated equally. No SJT band or cut-off is published. | Bristol's medicine interviews page describes a formal interview lasting approximately 30 minutes in a structured interview format, hosted remotely via Zoom. There are six stations, each assessed by three assessors whose scores combine into a total for that station; a candidate sees six assessors in total, in two groups of three marking three stations each, and the six station scores together produce the final interview score. Bristol does not call this an MMI or a panel; neither word appears on the page. The interview dates on that page still read December 2025 to February 2026, so its timings describe the 2026-entry cycle. The 2027-entry course page says only that applicants must be available for an interview from November to April immediately following submission of their application. |
| University of Buckingham | Medicine | Not published | No SJT requirement. | Multiple Mini Interview (MMI), Buckingham's own name for Stage Three of its selection process: a series of tasks testing abilities related to 'Good Medical Practice.' It follows an earlier computer-based Multiple Mini Assessment (MMA, Stage Two) which tests analysis, interpretation and judgement; the MMA is not itself the interview. |
| University of Cambridge | Medicine | Not published | Not used. Cambridge states it will not use the Situational Judgement Test score as part of its assessment for this entry cycle. | Interviews are arranged by the individual colleges. Cambridge says most applicants have one or two interviews lasting a total of 35 minutes to an hour, and that some have three or four depending on subject and college. Whether interviews run online or in person is set college by college, and a number of colleges vary it by where the applicant is based. Cambridge does not give Medicine a format label such as MMI or panel. Its admission-tests table lists only the UCAT against Medicine (Standard Course A100), with no additional written assessment. |
| University of Chester | Medicine | Not published | Chester does not publish an SJT policy for its graduate-entry MBChB; SJT banding is not mentioned in its entry requirements or selection criteria, unlike its published UCAT/GAMSAT/MCAT threshold. | Six Multiple Mini Interviews, with the whole process lasting approximately one and a half hours. Each station is observed and scored by two trained assessors, drawn from medical professionals, academics, current students and lay people with an interest in medical education. |
| University of Dundee | Dentistry | Not published | No standalone SJT requirement or SJT band cut-off is published on Dundee's official entry-requirements or interview pages for Dentistry. | Seven-station interview lasting approximately 60 minutes. Held in person at the Dundee Dental School for UK applicants, with a remote option via Blackboard Collaborate for international applicants, between December and January. Dundee does not label this format as an MMI or otherwise; the term does not appear in its published material. . |
| University of Dundee | Medicine | Not published | Dundee states that UCAT Situational Judgement Test bands are not used as part of the initial selection for interview process, so a weaker band does not block an applicant at the shortlisting stage. Dundee does not state how the band is treated after that point. | Two-stage format: a roughly 30-minute observed group discussion (six applicants total), followed by a one-to-one assessor-led discussion, about 1 hour 40 minutes in total including registration. In person at Ninewells campus for UK applicants, online via Blackboard Collaborate for international applicants. Held in January. Dundee does not classify this as an MMI or otherwise; neither term appears in its published material. (the admissions-statistics page cited previously contains none of this). |
| University of East Anglia | Medicine | Not published | The SJT component score is included within the interview score rather than treated as a separate gate. UEA publishes no SJT band threshold and names no band as an automatic rejection; after interview, applicants are ranked on interview score, which carries the SJT, alongside overall UCAT score, and the two are weighted equally. | Multiple Mini Interview held on campus, with UK and international applicants alike required to attend in person. Six stations, each with a different interviewer, five minutes at each station with 1.5 minutes of preparation time. Questions are not disclosed but are written against the Medical Schools Council statement on the core values and attributes needed to study medicine, and interviews take place between November and March. |
| University of Edinburgh | Medicine | 1850 | SJT banding contributes points to the ranking, but any applicant scoring Band 4 is automatically excluded from consideration regardless of widening-access eligibility. | Delivered as an assessment half-day with a series of short interview stations. Edinburgh's own selection-process page calls these 'short interviews' and does not use the term 'Multiple Mini Interview' or 'MMI.' Scottish and rest-of-UK/Republic of Ireland fee-rate applicants are required to attend in person; exact station count and timing for the current cycle are not published. |
| University of Exeter | Medicine | Not published | Not addressed anywhere in Exeter's official current-cycle admissions policy. No separate SJT band, cut-off, or usage stage is published; only the overall UCAT decile feeds the selection matrix. | Multiple Mini Interview. Exeter's course page states that 'the interview style will be Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)' and that 'the interview may take place either in person or online', with travel assistance available to those who meet certain eligibility criteria. Exeter's own FAQ states interviews are normally held between December and January, with shortlisted applicants invited to interview across a wider December–March window. Exeter's 2027-entry admissions policy anticipates interviewing approximately 800 applicants in total and discloses no station count. |
| University of Glasgow | Dentistry | Not published | Not used. Glasgow states explicitly that it does not take SJT banding into account in its decision making. | Glasgow interviews applicants for dentistry, and lists interview alongside grades and the UCAT in the entry requirements for every qualification route. Selected applicants are invited to interview in late January or early February. Glasgow also states that the UCAT forms an extremely important part of its BDS entry requirements, and that if your score is judged too low you will not be selected for interview regardless of your qualifications. Glasgow does not publish the interview format on its public dentistry pages: the Dental School page that describes its interviews is restricted to members of the University, so the number of stations, how long each one lasts and what they cover are not publicly available. Station counts and timings for Glasgow published on other websites cannot be checked against any page Glasgow makes public. |
| University of Glasgow | Medicine | Not published | Glasgow lists the UCAT as three cognitive subtests, verbal reasoning, decision making and quantitative reasoning, alongside the Situational Judgement Test, and then states in one line that it does not consider the SJT portion of the UCAT. Only the cognitive total counts towards the score threshold Glasgow uses to decide interviews. | Two-panel interview, 30 minutes total, held online. Panel A explores motivation to becoming a doctor and teamwork; Panel B covers communication and an ethical scenario chosen by the candidate. Interviews run between late November and March. Glasgow does not state whether this is an MMI or otherwise; the term does not appear in its published material. . |
| University of Greater Manchester | Medicine | Not published | No separate SJT policy is published. | Multiple mini interviews (MMIs), held online and lasting approximately one hour, assessing areas such as communication, motivation, teamwork and empathy. Greater Manchester describes this as the format for international candidates. The number of stations is not published on this page. |
| University of Hertfordshire | Medicine | Not published | No separate SJT policy is published. | Multiple Mini Interviews (MMIs), for applicants ranked highly enough on UCAT score. Hertfordshire refers to the same admissions stage as an 'Interview Day' in its UCAT explainer and as 'Multiple Mini Interviews (MMIs)... held online' in its process/FAQ sections. Both are Hertfordshire's own wording. |
| University of Hull and York Medical School | Medicine | Not published | SJT band used in selection process. | Multiple Mini Interviews (MMIs): a series of short interview stations, assessed by panels that include health professionals, academic staff, senior Hull York medical students and people from outside the medical profession. For 2027 entry, home fee status candidates attend in person at the University of Hull and University of York campuses and overseas fee status candidates attend online; online interviews are not offered to home fee status candidates. The in-person circuit is a group exercise, two mini-interviews, a student station and an individual scenario station built around a pre-recorded video, with five minutes of thinking time before each interview station. The online circuit covers the same ground through three mini-interviews, a student station, a scenario station and a group exercise, with two minutes of thinking time. Stations explore how you work in a team, your understanding of current medical and ethical issues, your critical thinking and problem solving, your insight into a career in medicine and your commitment to NHS core values. Hull York states that you will not be tested on your medical knowledge. |
| University of Kent and Medway School of Medicine | Medicine | Not published | SJT band used in selection. | Multiple Mini Interview format. |
| University of Lancashire | Dentistry | Not published | The University of Lancashire does not state whether the SJT component of the UCAT is used in selection for the graduate-entry BDS; its published entry requirements name only the UCAT score and interview. | A series of Multi Mini Interviews, the University of Lancashire's own term, including topics such as communication skills, knowledge of dentistry, ethics, professionalism and team working. For 2027 entry the interviews are held on Monday 14 and Tuesday 15 December 2026, and the university states no other interview dates will be held. It says it will confirm at a later date whether the interviews are online or at the Preston Campus, so the format is not yet published. |
| University of Lancashire | Medicine | Not published | The University of Lancashire's published guidance mentions situational judgement only as one of the four UCAT subtests; it does not state that an SJT band is used as a selection criterion. | Multiple Mini Interview format. |
| University of Leeds | Dentistry | Not published | Leeds names the Situational Judgement Test as one of the UCAT's four components on the page covering all three of its UCAT-requiring courses, including Dental Surgery BChD, but does not publish a separate SJT band or cut-off specific to dentistry. | Multiple mini interview: applicants move around a series of interview stations and at each one undertake a task or answer a few short questions, for which they are scored. Interviews are typically scheduled in February. Leeds states that the method of delivery for 2027 entry will be announced in time for its June open day, so whether interviews are online or in person is not yet published. |
| University of Leeds | Medicine | Not published | The SJT is one of the four UCAT subtests taken, but Leeds does not publish a separate SJT band cut-off or distinct use of the SJT score in selection. | Multiple mini-interview format, assessing applicants' non-academic qualities. In person for UK applicants (for 2027 entry: 4–6 January 2027), online for overseas applicants. Leeds does not publish the number of stations, minutes per station, or interviewers per station on its own course pages; figures for these found elsewhere during this audit came only from third-party tutoring sites and are not confirmed against Leeds's own material. |
| University of Leicester | Medicine | Not published | Applicants with SJT Band 4 are automatically rejected pre-interview. Guaranteed-interview widening-access routes additionally require SJT Band 1 to 3 combined with a UCAT score in the top 7 deciles. | Multiple Mini Interview. Leicester is currently planning face-to-face interviews for home applicants and online interviews for international applicants; exact station count is not fixed. Interviews normally run December to January, released in batches. |
| University of Lincoln | Medicine | Not published | SJT band used in selection. | Multiple Mini Interview format. |
| University of Liverpool | Dentistry | Not published | The SJT is used at the shortlisting stage combined with the UCAT score. Liverpool states that a Band 4 in Situational Judgement would not be a competitive enough score for an applicant to be considered for the BDS programme. No other band cut-offs are published. | Multiple mini interviews, held from mid-January through to the end of February. Liverpool's dental surgery page does not give a station count and does not state whether interviews are online or in person. |
| University of Liverpool | Medicine | Not published | SJT is checked alongside UCAT at the ranking stage. Home applicants must score band 1 to 3 in the situational judgement test for their application to be processed; international and EU applicants may offer any of the four SJT bands. | Liverpool's stated expectation is that home students are interviewed on campus by face-to-face MMI and that international applicants are invited to an equivalent online MMI, with the admissions team deciding who is eligible for which. Home and Irish applicants are expected to travel to campus. Liverpool does not publish a station count anywhere in its A100 departmental supplement, which is the document that carries its interview detail. It anticipates all interviews taking place in January and February, and states that no interviews will be offered after 5 March 2027. |
| University of Manchester | Dentistry | Not published | Manchester does not consider applicants who achieve Band 3 or 4 in the SJT section of the UCAT; there is no further numeric band cut-off beyond this rule. | Five-station multiple mini interview, with each station marked by a separate interviewer. Each station is seven minutes long, with a two-minute or longer gap between stations. Interviews normally run from January to March and candidates are required to attend in person on campus in Manchester, with the exception of candidates domiciled overseas whose tuition fee status is classified as Overseas; those candidates are welcome to attend in person if they wish. Manchester does not name the platform used for remote interviews. |
| University of Manchester | Medicine | Not published | Only Band 1 or 2 is considered. Applicants achieving Band 3 or 4 are not considered further. | Five-station Multiple Mini Interview, each station marked by a separate interviewer, eight minutes per station with a two-minute gap between stations. The starting station is allocated at random and applicants move round in order until they have completed them all. No information is provided in advance, and there is no reading or writing component to any station. |
| University of Nottingham | Medicine | Not published | Used at initial screening. A Band 4 SJT result means the applicant is not accepted for interview consideration. Bands 1 to 3 score 10, 6 and 2 points respectively toward the ranking score. | Six scenario stations including at least one role-play, lasting up to one hour in total. For the current cycle, home applicants interview in person and international applicants interview online via Microsoft Teams. Interviews run mid-December to late January. |
| University of Oxford | Medicine | Not published | Oxford states that it will not use an applicant's situational judgement score at the shortlisting stage; for UCAT results at that stage it looks only at the overall cognitive subtest score. Oxford does not say, on its pre-clinical requirements page, its application-process page or its shortlisting FAQ, whether the situational judgement band re-enters the process at any later point, and it publishes no band cut-off. Its description of what colleges review after interview refers to the candidate rank from the second college and the UCAT score, and does not mention the situational judgement band. | Shortlisted candidates are invited to at least one online interview, and Oxford says interviews are expected to take place in December. Each applicant is interviewed by two colleges: the college of preference or allocation, plus one other assigned at random by computer. Oxford's Medical Sciences Division says the composition of interview panels is arranged so that every candidate is interviewed by at least one practising clinician, and the university's guide for applicants says interviews are typically conducted by two tutors, although there may occasionally be more. Oxford does not use the term 'MMI' or 'multiple mini interview' anywhere in its published material. |
| University of Plymouth | Dentistry | Not published | SJT is part of the UCAT taken alongside the three cognitive subtests, used within the overall UCAT threshold for interview shortlisting; no separate SJT band cut-off is published. | Multiple Mini Interviews across five stations with four different interviewers, taking approximately 55 minutes. Plymouth describes these as not testing medical or scientific knowledge but exploring 'attitudes, outlook and way of thinking'. It does not use the terms 'OSCE-style' or 'unseen cases.' Assessors are drawn from a range of clinicians, academics, students, healthcare professionals and members of the public, and interviews are scored on a numerical scale alongside a red flag section. The station count carries no cycle label on Plymouth's page: the 2024 admissions cycle is named only in a separate sentence about interviews being held online, so it is the delivery mode rather than the station count that has gone unrestated for a later cycle. |
| University of Plymouth | Medicine | Not published | Plymouth does not mention the Situational Judgement Test anywhere in its published selection or entry-requirements material. The SJT is nationally part of every UCAT sitting, but Plymouth does not state how (or whether) it factors the SJT band into its own shortlisting. | Multiple Mini Interview across five stations with four different interviewers, taking about 55 minutes. Plymouth describes the aim as exploring 'attitudes, outlook and way of thinking' rather than medical or scientific knowledge; it does not use the term 'OSCE' or 'OSCE-style' to describe the format. |
| University of Portsmouth | Dentistry | Not published | No separate SJT policy is published in the entry requirements. | Portsmouth's course page says two different things. Its selection-process section says all shortlisted applicants are invited to attend an interview, 'either an individual online interview or an on campus interview'. Its admissions FAQ, further down the same page, says that if you are shortlisted through to interview stage 'this will consist of an online panel interview', and that interviews are anticipated for December 2026 and January 2027, with decisions expected in February 2027 and offers going out in March 2027. Portsmouth has not reconciled the two, so an on-campus interview remains on the page alongside the online panel one. The word 'semi-structured' appears nowhere on the page. |
| University of Sheffield | Dentistry | Not published | SJT is used at Phase 1 screening. Applicants must achieve Bands 1 or 2 in the UCAT Situational Judgement Test to progress. | Semi-structured panel interview lasting up to 15 minutes, with a panel usually of two academic staff and a senior dental student. Sheffield does not say whether this is an MMI, and neither 'MMI' nor 'multiple mini interview' appears anywhere in its published material. A separate group task (Sheffield's own 'Interpersonal Skills Test') assesses communication skills, empathy and compassion (not 'teamwork' or 'respect', which do not appear in Sheffield's own list of what the task measures). |
| University of Sheffield | Medicine | 1800 | SJT performance is reviewed only for applicants invited to interview, not used pre-interview. At interview stage, the SJT quartile converts to a score out of 5, added to the interview score for a combined total out of 45. | Multiple Mini Interview, typically 8 stations, in person for home applicants; online panel interview for international applicants. Interviews run December to January. |
| University of Southampton | Medicine | Not published | Southampton explicitly states it does not currently use the Situational Judgement Test: this is a stated policy, not merely an absence of mention. | A Selection Day consisting of an interview and a group task. Southampton states that applicants must attend in person and that, because of the format of its selection process, it does not offer online alternatives. Selection days run from January through to the end of February. Southampton does not label the format as an MMI or as a panel interview, and publishes no station count or per-station timing. |
| University of St Andrews | Medicine | Not published | St Andrews' official pages do not name the Situational Judgement Test or state any SJT band cut-off; only the UCAT global score is described as used for ranking. | Multiple Mini Interview: four stations of about six minutes each, assessing communication, critical thinking and ethical issues, with one role-play station against an actor. Home-fee applicants interview in person in St Andrews; other fee statuses interview online. |
| University of Sunderland | Medicine | Not published | Situational judgement test result must be within bands 1 to 3. | Multiple Mini Interview format. |
| University of Surrey | Medicine | Not published | Candidates sitting the UCAT must have a situational judgement test band of 3 or above to be considered for interview, and a candidate with an SJT band of 4 is rejected. This rule appears in Surrey's BMBS admissions process policy for 2026 entry, which is the document the 2027-entry course page points applicants to as a guide to what to expect. Surrey has not published a 2027-entry version of that policy, so the rule is not confirmed for 2027. | All applicants take part in a Multiple Mini Interview cycle lasting under one hour, following the aptitude test stage of the process. Surrey says it will run a selection of virtual interview events, with dates to be confirmed. |
| University of Warwick | Medicine | Not published | Warwick's admissions pages do not state whether the SJT component of the UCAT is used in selection for the graduate-entry course; only the total UCAT score is discussed in its published statistics. | Warwick calls its format Multiple Mini Interviews. Its applying page lists Warwick Multiple Mini Interviews held in person on 15 to 18 December 2026, and an MMI for international applicants unable to attend in person on 13 January 2027. Warwick does not publish a station count, a per-station duration or an interviewer count on that page. The course is graduate entry, so this applies to graduate applicants. |
| University of Worcester | Medicine | Not published | Worcester does not publish an SJT band policy for the UCAT. It requires every shortlisted applicant to sit CASPer, a separate online situational judgement assessment, in addition to the UCAT or GAMSAT. | Interview format for graduate-entry applicants. |
Every figure is checked directly against the university's own admissions page, not a third-party aggregator. Click through to a school's page for its source link and the date it was last verified.