From Invite to Offer, starts Monday 19 October
MedAdmit

Brighton and Sussex Medical School: UCAT, A-Levels & Interview Requirements

Brighton and Sussex Medical School has not published a fixed UCAT cut-off for 2027 entry. Here's how UCAT, A-levels, SJT and the interview all fit together for medicine.

2027 UCAT cut off
Not published
How the UCAT is weighted
BSMS does not publish a numeric UCAT cut-off. After screening against the academic requirements, applicants scoring an SJT band 1, 2 or 3 are ranked on their UCAT score and the top ranking candidates are invited to interview. Applicants with adjusted offers are ranked separately from the wider applicant pool, and BSMS aims to reserve 30 per cent of interviews for applicants with contextual data.
SJT policy
BSMS does use the SJT band as a gate on interview selection. Its entry requirements page states that, to select for interview, applicants scoring a SJT band 1, 2 or 3 are ranked according to their UCAT score, with top ranking candidates invited to interview. BSMS does not say on that page what happens to an applicant scoring band 4.
A-level requirements
Standard offer for 2027 entry: AAA, to include Biology or Chemistry and one further subject from Biology, Chemistry, Maths or Physics. This is a loosening of the 2026-entry rule, which required both Biology and Chemistry. For applicants with contextual data BSMS accepts AAB under the same subject rule. BSMS does not specify the nature of the third A-level subject, and does not accept A-levels in General Studies or Critical Thinking. GCSEs: English (Language or Literature) and Maths at grade 5/C or above, which BSMS describes as the only two GCSEs it looks at. The same grade 5/C applies to standard and adjusted offers alike; BSMS publishes no higher GCSE tier for the standard A-level offer.
Interview

Multiple Mini Interview, five stations, 10 minutes a station, the applicant chooses, December to February.

Brighton and Sussex interview: full format, stations, dates and what is not published

Resits
Brighton and Sussex Medical School publishes no resit policy. That is not the same as resits being accepted, and it is worth asking admissions directly before relying on either reading.
Personal statement
Not used at all, stated as plainly as any school in this dataset: BSMS does not use personal statements at any point during the admissions process.

What the UCAT had to be, 2026 entry

Brighton and Sussex Medical School does not publish one.

That is the university's own position, not a gap in our research. Any specific number quoted for Brighton and Sussex Medical School elsewhere is somebody's reconstruction from reported scores, not a figure the medical school has confirmed. Treat it accordingly.

BSMS publishes no UCAT threshold on its own entry requirements page. What it does state is the mechanism: applicants scoring SJT band 1, 2 or 3 are ranked by UCAT score and the top ranked are invited, and applicants holding adjusted offers are ranked separately from the wider pool rather than against it. A threshold of 1990 for 2026 entry circulates on third-party sites; it does not appear on the BSMS page and is not reproduced here.

Brighton and Sussex Medical School application data, checked 2026-09-01.

Applications, interviews and offers

Brighton and Sussex Medical School publishes no figures for this course.

BSMS publishes places rather than a funnel: it expects 197 places for new UK entrants and 10 for new international entrants in September 2027. Its only interview and offer figures are undated - its open-day page says BSMS interviews around 600 candidates and that roughly half will receive an offer, with no cycle attached - so there is no year those two numbers can honestly be read against. BSMS also states that it aims to offer 30% of its interviews to candidates with contextual data flags, who are ranked in a separate pool.

Brighton and Sussex Medical School application data, checked 2026-09-23.

National benchmark, for context

For context, the UCAT Consortium's own 2026 statistics report a mean cognitive score of 1918 (out of 2,700) across 42,359 tests, with the median (5th decile) at 1920 and the top decile at 2250+. This is a national figure, not Brighton and Sussex Medical School's own threshold, since Brighton and Sussex Medical School doesn't publish one for the current cycle.

UCAT Consortium, Test Statistics 2026

Standard A-level offer: Standard offer for 2027 entry: AAA, to include Biology or Chemistry and one further subject from Biology, Chemistry, Maths or Physics. This is a loosening of the 2026-entry rule, which required both Biology and Chemistry. For applicants with contextual data BSMS accepts AAB under the same subject rule. BSMS does not specify the nature of the third A-level subject, and does not accept A-levels in General Studies or Critical Thinking. GCSEs: English (Language or Literature) and Maths at grade 5/C or above, which BSMS describes as the only two GCSEs it looks at. The same grade 5/C applies to standard and adjusted offers alike; BSMS publishes no higher GCSE tier for the standard A-level offer. SJT policy: BSMS does use the SJT band as a gate on interview selection. Its entry requirements page states that, to select for interview, applicants scoring a SJT band 1, 2 or 3 are ranked according to their UCAT score, with top ranking candidates invited to interview. BSMS does not say on that page what happens to an applicant scoring band 4. Worth knowing: BSMS reserves 30% of its interviews for applicants holding an adjusted offer, and ranks those applicants separately from the wider pool rather than against it. That is the firmest contextual commitment found at any school here, and it changes the arithmetic for anyone eligible. The UCAT is applied after academic screening to rank who is interviewed. BSMS also lets the candidate choose between an in-person and a Zoom interview rather than assigning the format. Always confirm against the official page before applying, since this is the most recent published position rather than a guarantee for the live cycle.

Source: Brighton and Sussex Medical School's own admissions page. Last checked 13 September 2026.

Every figure above is taken from that page. Where Brighton and Sussex Medical School publishes nothing, this page says so rather than quoting a number reconstructed from student reports.

See the full directory or the admissions hub.