Medicine UCAT Cut Off Scores
How UK medical schools use the UCAT differs school to school: fixed cut-offs, decile ranking, and combined scoring all appear. Here's every medicine programme we track side by side.
Enter your UCAT score, see where you qualify, and save your shortlist.
Free account. No card required.
Medicine courses do not treat the UCAT the same way, and most of them do not tell you how they treat it. 12 of the 51 medicine courses here publish a numeric threshold. Of the rest, some rank the applicant pool by decile or percentile, some fold UCAT into a combined score alongside academic results, and a large group say only that UCAT is used in selection. The table below shows every medicine programme in our directory with whatever it has actually published, plus its SJT policy and interview format.
| University | 2027 cut off | Weighting | SJT policy |
|---|---|---|---|
| Anglia Ruskin University | Not published | UCAT score used in selection process alongside academic achievement. | SJT band used in selection. |
| Aston University | Not published | UCAT score used in selection process alongside academic achievement. | Aston states it has no lower cut-off score for the UCAT or for the SJT section specifically. It does not state that the SJT is excluded from scoring altogether. |
| Bangor University | Not published | Bangor requires the UCAT, sat in the year of application, but publishes no minimum threshold. It states only that UCAT scores are used as part of the selection process, so the bar is whatever that year's field produces rather than a number an applicant can check themselves against in advance. | Bangor publishes no separate SJT policy on its course page. No band is named as an automatic rejection, and no band is named as a requirement. |
| Brighton and Sussex Medical School | Not published | BSMS does not publish a numeric UCAT cut-off. After screening against the academic requirements, applicants scoring an SJT band 1, 2 or 3 are ranked on their UCAT score and the top ranking candidates are invited to interview. Applicants with adjusted offers are ranked separately from the wider applicant pool, and BSMS aims to reserve 30 per cent of interviews for applicants with contextual data. | BSMS does use the SJT band as a gate on interview selection. Its entry requirements page states that, to select for interview, applicants scoring a SJT band 1, 2 or 3 are ranked according to their UCAT score, with top ranking candidates invited to interview. BSMS does not say on that page what happens to an applicant scoring band 4. |
| Brunel University London | Not published | UCAT score considered in selection for new programme; first UK cohort September 2024. | SJT band used in selection. |
| Cardiff University | Not published | Applicants are given an academic score built from eight GCSE subjects, which must include Biology, Chemistry, English first language and Mathematics or Numeracy, and from the UCAT decile ranking; the two are combined. GCSEs score 3 points for a 9, 8 or A*, 2 points for a 7 or A, and 1 point for a 6 or B, on achieved grades only. UCAT deciles score 3 points for the 9th to 7th deciles, 2 points for the 6th to 4th, and 1 point for the 3rd to 1st. One additional point is awarded for academic achievement at further or higher education. Cardiff publishes no score to aim for and says only that a UCAT cut-off may be applied to shortlist further, and that a UCAT score may be used where the number of applicants on the same academic score exceeds the number of interview places. | Not published as a separate scored component. No Cardiff admissions document mentions a distinct SJT band or SJT-specific cut-off; only the overall UCAT decile score is used in selection. |
| Edge Hill University | Not published | UCAT score considered in selection process. | SJT band used in selection. |
| Imperial College London | Not published | UCAT is used to help decide shortlisting for interview but is not the sole factor; the threshold varies year to year with the distribution of scores and the ratio of applicants to places. For 2026 entry (the last completed cycle), the published threshold was 2,320 for home applicants and 2,170 for contextual applicants, but Imperial does not guarantee this repeats. | For 2026 entry, a minimum SJT Band 3 was required alongside the UCAT threshold, with Band 4 discounted, for both home and contextual applicants. Not confirmed for the current cycle. |
| Keele University | 1700 | UCAT score used in selection; minimum cut-off 1700 for interview consideration. | Band 4 automatic rejection |
| King's College London | Not published | King's has no fixed UCAT threshold; the overall UCAT score averaged across all four subtests is weighted more heavily than individual subtest scores, and UCAT is described as one of the most important factors in shortlisting alongside exam results. | SJT is taken into account when shortlisting candidates for interview; no band cut-off or scoring formula is published. |
| Lancaster University | Not published | UCAT score considered in selection process alongside academic achievement. | SJT band used in selection. |
| Newcastle University | Not published | UCAT score used in selection ranking alongside academic achievement and contextual factors, but no published minimum cut-off for the current cycle. | Newcastle uses the SJT band twice: candidates in Band 4 are eliminated before interview, and Bands 1–3 contribute points (5/3/1) to the final Interview score, weighted the same as one interview station. |
| Pears Cumbria School of Medicine | Not published | All applicants must meet a minimum threshold score in either the GAMSAT or the UCAT. The GAMSAT must be taken within the two years before the UCAS submission date; the UCAT must be taken in the same year as the UCAS submission. Cumbria does publish its thresholds: for 2026 entry it applied a minimum UCAT total of 1960 or a minimum GAMSAT total of 59 for home applicants, reduced to 1910 and 53 respectively for contextual applicants. Cumbria notes that 2026-entry UCAT scores differ because the abstract reasoning section was removed, giving a lower maximum total of 2700 rather than 3600. No threshold for a later cycle is published on this page. | No separate SJT policy is published. |
| Queen Mary University of London | Not published | UCAT is used at first shortlisting as a pass/fail floor (4th decile or above, with SJT Bands 1-3), then feeds a weighted score at second shortlisting alongside UCAS tariff (or degree score for graduates) to select interviewees, and may be weighed again post-interview alongside interview score and SJT for final offers. | SJT Band 4 results in automatic rejection at first shortlisting; Bands 1 to 3 are required to proceed, and the SJT score may be reconsidered again at the final offer-decision stage. |
| Queen's University Belfast | Not published | No numeric UCAT cut-off is published for the current cycle. UCAT is scored and used with the GCSE score to rank for interview, with AS-level performance, additional GCSE A grades and other factors considered in borderline cases. | Not described as a separate banded cut-off on QUB's live pages. Used only as a tie-breaker: if two candidates have the same rank order but there is only one place, the offer goes to the candidate with the higher SJT score. |
| St George's, University of London | Not published | Applicants who meet minimum entry criteria are ranked by total UCAT score within four separate groups (home/overseas non-graduate, home/overseas graduate) because of number caps; interview places go to the highest scorers in each group until slots are filled. The cut-off is recalculated every year and not fixed in advance. | SJT and MMI scores are ranked together post-interview, with offers going to the highest performers within each applicant group. No specific SJT band cut-off is published. |
| St Mary's University, Twickenham | Not published | All applicants sit the UCAT. St Mary's reviews scores across all three cognitive subtests, Verbal Reasoning, Decision Making and Quantitative Reasoning, alongside the SJT band, rather than looking at the total alone. | The SJT band is reviewed alongside the three cognitive subtests. Applicants meeting the academic, UCAT and SJT requirements are invited to MMI. |
| Swansea University | Not published | UCAT score used in selection for graduate-entry route. | SJT policy not specified for graduate-entry route. |
| Ulster University | Not published | Ulster's admissions process is built entirely around the GAMSAT; UCAT is not mentioned anywhere in its published admissions material for this course. | Not applicable: Ulster's admissions process does not mention the UCAT or its Situational Judgement Test component anywhere in its published material. |
| University College London | Not published | UCL has no fixed pre-set threshold. The total UCAT score (out of 2,700, no Abstract Reasoning) is used to rank all eligible candidates, and only the top-scoring candidates are invited to interview. For 2026 entry, the last completed cycle, the minimum score actually invited was 2,190 (home), 2,300 (overseas) and 2,080 (Access UCL); UCL states past scores are not indicative of future cohorts. | Used only as a tiebreaker: where candidates have identical total UCAT scores, the SJT score is used to further rank them. No separate published SJT band cut-off. |
| University of Aberdeen | Not published | Aberdeen publishes one weighting for medicine: academic attainment and predictions 30%, UCAT 20%, interview performance 50%. It does not publish a separate pre-interview weighting, so how the academic and UCAT shares are scaled against each other to decide who is invited is not stated. A minimum UCAT cut-off score is not used; a score is allocated on overall UCAT performance compared with all other applicants to Aberdeen. | SJT is one of four UCAT subtests factored into the overall UCAT score used in selection; Aberdeen's official pages do not publish a separate SJT band cut-off or distinct SJT weighting policy. |
| University of Birmingham | Not published | No minimum UCAT cut-off score. Applicants are scored on UCAT (Verbal Reasoning, Decision Making and Quantitative Reasoning only) alongside GCSEs and contextual factors to produce a total application score used to rank for interview. | Not used in the initial ranking score; the SJT result is used at the interview stage instead. |
| University of Bristol | Not published | Bristol's medicine admissions statement says that once minimum academic entry requirements are met, predicted or achieved, an application is scored with a 100 per cent weighting on the UCAT result, and that this is used to select candidates for interview. The combined score from all subtests except Situational Judgement is the score used. Bristol does publish the figures actually applied last cycle: for 2026 entry the final UCAT threshold score to be invited to interview was 2240 for home applicants and 2270 for overseas applicants. Bristol adds that the number used as a threshold for interview is subject to change year on year. | The Situational Judgement subtest is excluded from the combined score used to select applicants for interview; all other subtests are treated equally. No SJT band or cut-off is published. |
| University of Buckingham | Not published | Uses in-house Multiple Mini Assessment (MMA) instead of UCAT; no UCAT required. | No SJT requirement. |
| University of Cambridge | Not published | Cambridge looks at an applicant's overall UCAT cognitive subtest score; colleges use the result to help decide interview invitations. The university states explicitly that there is no minimum threshold. | Not used. Cambridge states it will not use the Situational Judgement Test score as part of its assessment for this entry cycle. |
| University of Chester | Not published | UCAT score used in selection for graduate-entry route only. | Chester does not publish an SJT policy for its graduate-entry MBChB; SJT banding is not mentioned in its entry requirements or selection criteria, unlike its published UCAT/GAMSAT/MCAT threshold. |
| University of Dundee | Not published | All applicants must sit the UCAT in their year of application, and Dundee states there is no minimum cut-off score. Its entry requirements page gives no percentage weighting and no scoring formula combining the UCAT with academic scores. | Dundee states that UCAT Situational Judgement Test bands are not used as part of the initial selection for interview process, so a weaker band does not block an applicant at the shortlisting stage. Dundee does not state how the band is treated after that point. |
| University of East Anglia | Not published | UCAT results used in selection process; no published minimum cut-off for the current cycle. | The SJT component score is included within the interview score rather than treated as a separate gate. UEA publishes no SJT band threshold and names no band as an automatic rejection; after interview, applicants are ranked on interview score, which carries the SJT, alongside overall UCAT score, and the two are weighted equally. |
| University of Edinburgh | 1850 | UCAT total score is ranked into deciles (10 equal groups) and converted to a score; SJT banding is also scored. Both are added to the academic score to produce a ranking used for shortlisting to an Assessment Day. No percentage weighting breakdown is published. | SJT banding contributes points to the ranking, but any applicant scoring Band 4 is automatically excluded from consideration regardless of widening-access eligibility. |
| University of Exeter | Not published | UCAT is not scored as a standalone pass/fail threshold. It is combined with academic grades in a 3:1 (academic to UCAT) weighted matrix that converts UCAT performance into national deciles and grades into an Exeter Score out of 90 (up to 105 with achieved-grades and widening-participation uplifts), which determines interview ranking. | Not addressed anywhere in Exeter's official current-cycle admissions policy. No separate SJT band, cut-off, or usage stage is published; only the overall UCAT decile feeds the selection matrix. |
| University of Glasgow | Not published | UCAT score is used to allocate interviews among applicants who meet minimum academic requirements and have a satisfactory personal statement and reference; Glasgow states the score range it considers varies each year based on cohort performance, and no fixed cut-off is published in advance. | Glasgow lists the UCAT as three cognitive subtests, verbal reasoning, decision making and quantitative reasoning, alongside the Situational Judgement Test, and then states in one line that it does not consider the SJT portion of the UCAT. Only the cognitive total counts towards the score threshold Glasgow uses to decide interviews. |
| University of Greater Manchester | Not published | Greater Manchester does not require the UCAT for the cycles currently open. It states that from the September 2028 cohort onwards all applicants to its School of Medicine are required to take the UCAT, and that the test helps universities widen access and make fairer choices among the many highly qualified applicants. For September 2026 and September 2027 entry there is no UCAT requirement at all. | No separate SJT policy is published. |
| University of Hertfordshire | Not published | All applicants sit the UCAT in the summer before applying. Hertfordshire publishes no cut-off: applicants who meet the academic requirements are ranked by UCAT score and a number are invited to an interview day, so the effective bar is set by that year's field. | No separate SJT policy is published. |
| University of Hull and York Medical School | Not published | HYMS awards points for total UCAT score and for UCAT SJT Band as part of its ranking of applicants for interview. HYMS does not publish how many points of the total come from UCAT, nor does it describe the scoring as decile-based; no HYMS page found in this audit confirms the '35 of 100' figure. | SJT band used in selection process. |
| University of Kent and Medway School of Medicine | Not published | UCAT score used in selection process alongside academic achievement. | SJT band used in selection. |
| University of Lancashire | Not published | UCAT score used in selection process alongside academic achievement. | The University of Lancashire's published guidance mentions situational judgement only as one of the four UCAT subtests; it does not state that an SJT band is used as a selection criterion. |
| University of Leeds | Not published | UCAT score is combined with academic criteria into a total rank score. There is no fixed pass or fail threshold; a high academic score can compensate for a lower UCAT score and vice versa. Leeds only began using the UCAT in 2024, so historical threshold data is limited. | The SJT is one of the four UCAT subtests taken, but Leeds does not publish a separate SJT band cut-off or distinct use of the SJT score in selection. |
| University of Leicester | Not published | UCAT forms 50% of the pre-interview scoring system (worth up to 48 of 96 points for standard/graduate applicants, up to 24 of 76 for Access applicants), scored via a banded points table against total UCAT score. Candidates in the bottom 2 deciles are not considered further; the exact cut score is not disclosed in advance. | Applicants with SJT Band 4 are automatically rejected pre-interview. Guaranteed-interview widening-access routes additionally require SJT Band 1 to 3 combined with a UCAT score in the top 7 deciles. |
| University of Lincoln | Not published | UCAT score used in selection process alongside academic achievement and contextual factors. | SJT band used in selection. |
| University of Liverpool | Not published | Applicants are ranked on their overall UCAT score; Liverpool states it uses the overall score and not individual subtest scores in that ranking, and the top-scoring applicants then progress to the second stage, academic assessment. The cut-offs published for 2026 entry were 1960 for home applicants and 2080 for international and EU applicants. Liverpool says cut-off scores vary from year to year, and that it removed historic UCAT scores from its website because the UCAT itself changed for 2026 entry. Graduate applicants to A100 are ranked on the GAMSAT instead, on overall score, with a minimum of 50 in each sub-component. | SJT is checked alongside UCAT at the ranking stage. Home applicants must score band 1 to 3 in the situational judgement test for their application to be processed; international and EU applicants may offer any of the four SJT bands. |
| University of Manchester | Not published | Threshold calculated annually after November UCAT results are released; not published in advance. If interview places are oversubscribed among otherwise-qualified candidates, the university ranks by UCAT total score and SJT band. | Only Band 1 or 2 is considered. Applicants achieving Band 3 or 4 are not considered further. |
| University of Nottingham | Not published | UCAT cognitive subtests are combined into a score out of 40, with Verbal Reasoning double-weighted based on published research evidence Nottingham cites. This combines with GCSE scores to rank applicants for interview; there is no fixed UCAT pass mark, and the university states it cannot predict this cycle's threshold. | Used at initial screening. A Band 4 SJT result means the applicant is not accepted for interview consideration. Bands 1 to 3 score 10, 6 and 2 points respectively toward the ranking score. |
| University of Oxford | Not published | Oxford establishes a numerical ranking from UCAT results and, where an applicant has completed them, GCSE results; that ranking forms the basis of an initial shortlist. For applicants with GCSEs, GCSEs and UCAT carry equal weight at the first stage of shortlisting. Double weight is given to the UCAT for applicants without GCSEs, for those who took GCSEs between summer 2020 and summer 2021, and for those who took five or fewer GCSEs. Only the overall cognitive subtest score is used. Because Oxford shortlists the same number of people every year using two variables that carry the same weight, it states there is no actual cut-off for either variable and that it is therefore impossible to advise on the exact UCAT score an applicant would need. | Oxford states that it will not use an applicant's situational judgement score at the shortlisting stage; for UCAT results at that stage it looks only at the overall cognitive subtest score. Oxford does not say, on its pre-clinical requirements page, its application-process page or its shortlisting FAQ, whether the situational judgement band re-enters the process at any later point, and it publishes no band cut-off. Its description of what colleges review after interview refers to the candidate rank from the second college and the UCAT score, and does not mention the situational judgement band. |
| University of Plymouth | Not published | UCAT results are used alongside A-levels and GCSEs to select for interview, and Plymouth's Admissions Advisory Panel reserves the right to consider all aspects of the UCAT when shortlisting. The test is valid for 12 months and must be sat in the year of application. Plymouth states that the threshold score applied to determine selection for interview can alter each year, influenced by overall candidate performance in the UCAT and the number and quality of applications received, and that it cannot confirm the cut-off for the coming academic year until all applications have been received and assessed. It also states that the advertised typical offers are not necessarily the threshold for interview selection. | Plymouth does not mention the Situational Judgement Test anywhere in its published selection or entry-requirements material. The SJT is nationally part of every UCAT sitting, but Plymouth does not state how (or whether) it factors the SJT band into its own shortlisting. |
| University of Sheffield | 1800 | Applicants who meet minimum academic and UCAT thresholds are ranked by UCAT score to determine interview invitations. Widening-participation applicants on recognised pathways who meet the minimum threshold progress without competitive ranking. | SJT performance is reviewed only for applicants invited to interview, not used pre-interview. At interview stage, the SJT quartile converts to a score out of 5, added to the interview score for a combined total out of 45. |
| University of Southampton | Not published | Applicants who meet grade requirements are ranked by UCAT score and the top-ranked are invited to a Selection Day; no fixed score is published because the threshold varies year to year. UCAT is also used as a tiebreaker if Selection Day scores are tied between candidates. | Southampton explicitly states it does not currently use the Situational Judgement Test: this is a stated policy, not merely an absence of mention. |
| University of St Andrews | Not published | St Andrews does not score applications component by component. Applicants who meet its requirements are ranked on the basis of their UCAT global score, and those ranked in the top 650 or so are given an interview. Decisions to make offers are based on the interview score, and where applicants have the same interview score the global UCAT score is used to differentiate between them. Widening participation applicants who meet, or are predicted to meet, the required academic grades and who meet any of a list of criteria are given a 10 per cent increase in their UCAT score, which is used in the ranking for invitation to interview. | St Andrews' official pages do not name the Situational Judgement Test or state any SJT band cut-off; only the UCAT global score is described as used for ranking. |
| University of Sunderland | Not published | Top 8 deciles of applicant cohort used in selection process. | Situational judgement test result must be within bands 1 to 3. |
| University of Surrey | Not published | Surrey accepts either the UCAT or the GAMSAT, and every applicant must sit one of them. The UCAT is only accepted from applicants holding a degree in Biochemistry, Biology, Biomedical Science, Chemistry or Natural Sciences; anyone else takes the GAMSAT. | Candidates sitting the UCAT must have a situational judgement test band of 3 or above to be considered for interview, and a candidate with an SJT band of 4 is rejected. This rule appears in Surrey's BMBS admissions process policy for 2026 entry, which is the document the 2027-entry course page points applicants to as a guide to what to expect. Surrey has not published a 2027-entry version of that policy, so the rule is not confirmed for 2027. |
| University of Warwick | Not published | UCAT score considered in selection for graduate-entry route. | Warwick's admissions pages do not state whether the SJT component of the UCAT is used in selection for the graduate-entry course; only the total UCAT score is discussed in its published statistics. |
| University of Worcester | Not published | UCAT score used in selection for graduate-entry route; first intake 2023. | Worcester does not publish an SJT band policy for the UCAT. It requires every shortlisted applicant to sit CASPer, a separate online situational judgement assessment, in addition to the UCAT or GAMSAT. |
Cut-offs move every admissions cycle. A published figure reflects the most recent cycle a school has confirmed, not a promise for the one you're applying in. Always check the school's own page (linked from its row above) before finalising your UCAS choices.