University of Plymouth Medicine: UCAT, A-Levels & Interview Requirements
University of Plymouth has not published a fixed UCAT cut-off for 2027 entry. Here's how UCAT, A-levels, SJT and the interview all fit together for medicine.
- 2027 UCAT cut off
- Not published
- How the UCAT is weighted
- UCAT results are used alongside A-levels and GCSEs to select for interview, and Plymouth's Admissions Advisory Panel reserves the right to consider all aspects of the UCAT when shortlisting. The test is valid for 12 months and must be sat in the year of application. Plymouth states that the threshold score applied to determine selection for interview can alter each year, influenced by overall candidate performance in the UCAT and the number and quality of applications received, and that it cannot confirm the cut-off for the coming academic year until all applications have been received and assessed. It also states that the advertised typical offers are not necessarily the threshold for interview selection.
- SJT policy
- Plymouth does not mention the Situational Judgement Test anywhere in its published selection or entry-requirements material. The SJT is nationally part of every UCAT sitting, but Plymouth does not state how (or whether) it factors the SJT band into its own shortlisting.
- A-level requirements
- Standard offer A*AA to AAB, including grade A in Biology and grade A in a second science from Chemistry, Physics, Maths or Psychology. GCSEs: seven passes at grade C/4 or higher including English Language, Mathematics and two science subjects, either Double Award Science or two from single award Chemistry, Biology or Physics; functional skills are not accepted in lieu of GCSEs. Plymouth publishes two reduced routes, not one: applicants from widening access backgrounds are accepted at AAB with grade A in Biology and grade A in a second science, and applicants through the UKWPMED scheme at ABB with grade A in Biology and grade B in a second science. General Studies is not accepted.
- Interview
Multiple Mini Interview, five stations.
Plymouth does not publish three of the five things a candidate needs before an interview.
Plymouth interview: full format, stations, dates and what is not published
- Resits
- University of Plymouth publishes no resit policy. That is not the same as resits being accepted, and it is worth asking admissions directly before relying on either reading.
- Personal statement
- Not used to select for interview, and neither is work experience. Plymouth states: "We do not currently consider personal statements or work experience when selecting for interview."
What the UCAT had to be, 2026 entry
University of Plymouth does not publish one.
That is the university's own position, not a gap in our research. Any specific number quoted for University of Plymouth elsewhere is somebody's reconstruction from reported scores, not a figure the medical school has confirmed. Treat it accordingly.
Plymouth says it cannot confirm the cut-off for a cycle until all applications have been received and assessed, so no figure exists at the point an applicant would need it. Any number quoted for Plymouth during an open cycle did not come from Plymouth.
University of Plymouth application data, checked 2026-09-01.
Your actual chances, 2024 entry
University of Plymouth's own published figures, not an estimate.
Plymouth publishes one set of figures covering everyone, with no home and international split, so these are all applicants rather than UK ones. The shape is unusual: 679 of 931 applicants were interviewed and 419 of them were offered, which makes Plymouth's cut happen at interview rather than before it. Plymouth's own answer to what a student's chances are begins by saying it is difficult to confirm what percentage of applicants will be accepted, because the number of applications changes year to year. A separate and much smaller route exists for applicants transferring from a Plymouth BSc, where Plymouth interviews 20 candidates across medicine and dentistry together and offers places to 10 of them.
Offer rate is offers as a share of applications, so it already accounts for everyone cut before interview. University of Plymouth application data, checked 2026-09-23.
National benchmark, for context
For context, the UCAT Consortium's own 2026 statistics report a mean cognitive score of 1918 (out of 2,700) across 42,359 tests, with the median (5th decile) at 1920 and the top decile at 2250+. This is a national figure, not University of Plymouth's own threshold, since University of Plymouth doesn't publish one for the current cycle.
UCAT Consortium, Test Statistics 2026Standard A-level offer: Standard offer A*AA to AAB, including grade A in Biology and grade A in a second science from Chemistry, Physics, Maths or Psychology. GCSEs: seven passes at grade C/4 or higher including English Language, Mathematics and two science subjects, either Double Award Science or two from single award Chemistry, Biology or Physics; functional skills are not accepted in lieu of GCSEs. Plymouth publishes two reduced routes, not one: applicants from widening access backgrounds are accepted at AAB with grade A in Biology and grade A in a second science, and applicants through the UKWPMED scheme at ABB with grade A in Biology and grade B in a second science. General Studies is not accepted. SJT policy: Plymouth does not mention the Situational Judgement Test anywhere in its published selection or entry-requirements material. The SJT is nationally part of every UCAT sitting, but Plymouth does not state how (or whether) it factors the SJT band into its own shortlisting. Worth knowing: Plymouth does not publish a threshold for the coming cycle and says it cannot confirm one until all applications are in, since it moves with the strength and volume of the field. It does publish the thresholds it applied in past cycles, on the same entry-requirements page: an overall cut-off of 2400 for 2018 entry, 2330 for 2019, 2290 for 2020, 2400 for 2021, 2610 for 2022, 2680 for 2023 with 2440 for international applicants and 2330 for UKWPMED, and 2210 for 2024 with 2600 for international applicants and 2210 for UKWPMED. Those published figures stop at 2024 entry and sit on the older, higher UCAT total; Plymouth does not comment on the later change to the test on this page. Plymouth publishes past section and overall GAMSAT thresholds in the same way for its alternative entry route. Always confirm against the official page before applying, since this is the most recent published position rather than a guarantee for the live cycle.
Source: University of Plymouth's own admissions page. Last checked 13 September 2026.
Every figure above is taken from that page. Where University of Plymouth publishes nothing, this page says so rather than quoting a number reconstructed from student reports.
Schools worth comparing University of Plymouth against
- Plymouth DentistryDentistry at the same university
- Queen Mary MedicineAlso folds UCAT into a combined score and ranks applicants by UCAT score
- Exeter MedicineAlso folds UCAT into a combined score and ranks applicants by UCAT score
- King's MedicineAlso folds UCAT into a combined score and ranks applicants by UCAT score
- UCL MedicineAlso asks A*AA at A-level
See the full directory or the admissions hub.